Weight Gain Does Not Have to Equal Shame

I feel like it’s been too long since I last blogged.  I might not eve have that many readers to begin with but when I blog, I feel like the whole world is reading. haha  Normally, an unpaid blogger, has all the excitement at first about blogging…sharing all the news with the world, feeling like they have this huge audience, but as time goes by, the excitement wears off and nobody is asking “are you still blogging?”, so you slowly go off the blogging world.  Well, I told myself that even if I’m writing this for me to read to myself, I’ll keep doing it.  I really do enjoy blogging about my journey to get fit.  But this week and last were hard to blog….about what has happened!

Here goes!

I first had to admit it to Barb and then I had to decompress.  I GAINED 2 lbs.  When I got on the scale and realized that, I was so upset.  I was mad, sad, disappointed, etc.  I couldn’t believe I had done that.  I felt like I had worked so hard and was only 2 lbs away from my 1st goal of 20 lbs lost.  However, the truth is, I had gotten a little relaxed on the weekends, not going crazy but I had been having a few Michelob Ultras here and there (it was 108 degrees here last Saturday…I needed to quinch my thirst lol) and I had been eating Chicken Fajitas with flour tortillas and tortilla chips and salsa at Gringo’s a handful of times (not in 1 day, over probably about a month).  So either it caught up to me, or I had alot of water weight.  Last Tuesday, Nick and I were given the opportunity to work a merchandise table for a favorite artist of mine, Bonnie Bishop.  It was totally spontaneous of us and as soon as I got home from work that day, I had to literally turn back around and head to the concert.  By the time we got there, we were A. Starving and B. My blood sugar had dropped BIG TIME.  I’m learning that if you’re eating every 2-3 hours (small, of course), that doesn’t leave room for your blood sugar to drop.  And when mine does drop…I want carbs and anything that’ll fill me up good.  Needless to say, I ate something fried.  I had not done that since I started this new lifestyle change…anything fried that is.  I’m not going to lie, it was so freaking good.  But it really showed on the scale the next day!  It took me a few days to tell Barb.  I was scared what she was going to say.  I was scared to disappoint her.  But I finally contacted her on Thursday and gave her the bad news.  But much to my surprise…she totally reversed my attitude and helped me to stop beating myself up.  So since last Thursday, I have been staying true to my workout regimin and am watching what I’m eating, even on the weekend.

This coming Saturday marks the goal date I had to have lost 20 lbs and to celebrate it on jet skis at my aunt’s lakehouse.  At this point, I’m not putting so much of an importance on the number and am waiting until Saturday morning to get on the scale.  If I hadn’t made the 20 lbs, I’m not going to lie, I will be a little disappointed because I have all these plans in place to celebrate THAT DAY.  However, no matter what, I’m still going to go celebrate…plans are made and I need to realize I’ve come a good ways so far.  I haven’t give up and I deserve a little excitement.

We’re having a few people over for tomorrow, 4th of July, and we bought turkey meat for those of us who want to have turkey burgers 🙂  We also have watermelon to snack on as well.  I’m sure we’ll eat a cookie or a few of the other snacks that others bring, but we’re not going to go crazy and will count that as our cheat meal.  What are your plans to stay healthy tomorrow? 

Happy Independence everyone!  Count your blessings.

 Image

Leave a Reply

